BlueWave Studio forum
Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - Printable Version

+- BlueWave Studio forum (https://bluewavestudio.io/community)
+-- Forum: OpenAuto Pro (https://bluewavestudio.io/community/forumdisplay.php?fid=86)
+--- Forum: OBD-II (https://bluewavestudio.io/community/forumdisplay.php?fid=103)
+--- Thread: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? (/showthread.php?tid=1879)



Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - Lukas97 - 08-13-2020

Hi,

I was wondering if it may be possible to display data on the gauges which is not provided directly by OBD?
Let's say I have an aftermarket oil temperature sensor that I am able to read from.
Could I store the data somewhere on the Pi and tell a gauge to grab its information from there?


RE: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - BlueWave - 08-13-2020

Yes, you could theoretically emulate the ELM327 device. This project might be useful for your needs https://github.com/Ircama/ELM327-emulator


RE: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - Lukas97 - 08-13-2020

Great, thank you.


RE: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - Venkatesh - 09-12-2020

Hi , I also have a smilar question, Can i use OBD II to show the Fuel Capacity and the Mileage ( KM/Lit) and also the KMs to go on the existing fuel capacity in the tank. I think this is what i would need in my car as it an old HONDA CITY and doesnt have these features.


RE: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - BlueWave - 09-12-2020

(09-12-2020, 10:41 AM)Venkatesh Wrote: Hi , I also have a smilar question, Can i use OBD II to show the Fuel Capacity and the Mileage ( KM/Lit) and also the KMs to go on the existing fuel capacity in the tank. I think this is what i would need in my car as it an old HONDA CITY and doesnt have these features.

OpenAuto Pro 11 will provide more advanced definition of custom gauges. However you still have to know the formula how to calculate desired values.


RE: Is it possible to display any kind of information on the gauges? - Lukas97 - 10-19-2020

Hi its me again,

I'm not really able to get the ELM327-Emulator to work.
Will there possibly be a way to set the gauge values directly in the future? Kinda the way it is currently possible with the outdoor temperature through a txt-file?